top of page

Top 10 Home Design Trends for 2022


 

Let me start out by saying... just because something is popular doesn't mean you have to do it. Remember when everyone ate Tide Pods? My point exactly.


I've compiled this list to give you an idea of which interior designs will become hot in 2022. Trust me, do I love all of them? Absolutely not. Do I love knowing which designs will shape the way you redesign your space? YES.


Before we begin, I ask that you keep your options open. There are loads of ways to style the items below. Put on your creative thinking cap and let's begin!


 

1. Mid-Century Modern




I know... I didn't think this 1970's, Vietnam War era vibe would make it out of 2021.. but it did. Ahh, the sweet smell of fondue and bell bottoms. 2022 is going to be about BOLD color choices and extremely textured fabrics. My question to you is.. have you ever slept on a velvet couch? My advise is to try it out before you revamp your interior to match this design.



 

2. Color of the Year - Very Peri




I can't think of a better color to go with your Mid-Century velvet couch! As this is the color of the year for 2022, you can expect to see it in everything decor. It's described as "a dynamic periwinkle blue hue with a vivifying violet red undertone" and I am here for it.



 

3. Indoor Plants



Biophilic interior design became popular throughout 2021 and will continue to steadily rise into 2022. People are wanting a peaceful experience when they walk through their front door. House plants provide a calm atmosphere and keep us visually connected with nature.


 

4. Smart Lighting



As the world progresses towards the metaverse, smart lighting is taking the stage. Being able to control a room's mood by light means less of a need to control the mood with furniture and decoration.


 

5. Hobby Rooms



The impact that a space has on our emotions will cause an influx of hobby rooms to pop up. With so many people still working from home, a desire to unwind and do what you love will be at the forefront.


 

6. Curved Furniture



I'm truly convinced that curved furniture is making an impact because of virtual reality. We want our space to match the quickly approaching digital world. While the digital world may be playing some part, I believe it's mostly comfort that the people want. Comfort that you cannot find in a rectangle.


 

7. Wallpaper




Wallpaper, when done right, can transform your space. I predict we see wallpaper in unexpected places like on cabinetry or worked into batten board.


 

8. Antique Wood Pieces



I'm sensing a theme here.. We've been seeing antiques make a comeback for quite some time. It's become a very popular trend to actually source and refurnish a piece yourself.


 

9. Textured Furniture



People want to be comfortable in 2022, that's why they're switching to textured furnishings. Fabrics that are soft to the touch will become very popular.


 

10. Japandi



With an aim to reduce clutter, there's no wonder why Japandi will have a big debut in 2022. This aesthetic focuses on clean lines and open spaces.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page